House guests…

Today was the last day my m-i-l was here with us.  We deposited her back to my bro-in-laws today and I’m thankful for that.  I’m thankful I don’t have a lot of overnight visitors. I’m just cut out to be a host I guess.  My parent’s are wonderful hosts and entertain often. Me…I’d rather not.

We dropped off Mom tonight and had a lovely dinner with the in-laws.  I always love to spend time with my nephews and it was good to see them ❤ Very handsome and smart! 🙂 I’m a proud Auntie.

We finally got home and I’ve collapsed into my bedroom chair.  I’m ready to be done with guests. She wasn’t high maintenance but just having the extra person here stressed me out.

I’m feeling extra thankful because she’s 85 now.  Her memory isn’t great.  But this lady travels solo across the country a couple of times a year to see her boys. She lives alone, does remarkably well.  Sometimes I complain about her but all in all, I’m a lucky girl. I’ve known younger folks who do not do as well as she does. I hope we have her around a lot longer.

3 thoughts on “House guests…

  1. It is what it is … you’re right … some people are hosts … others not … I love people coming over for a meal … but overnight ???!!! I totally relate !!! You were sweet in describing her, though. Yes, you are SO lucky she is self-sufficient and able to care for herself !!! I’ve always said … the best inheritance a son or daughter can receive is that their parents care for themselves financially especially for as long as they live. Even if it takes every single penny.

    Me … I’m trying to come to grips with the fact that my darling, lovely in every way step-daughter is coming to stay with us for three months !!! I’m about to freak out !!! Hope you folks out in blog-land can help me see this one through !! love, jan

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad your Mom is doing OK.

    I can be a good host, but it stresses me out too much, too. I’m such a perfectionist when it comes to hosting and that makes me feel unwell. When my husband’s family visits there are always fights. I don’t usually understand what they’re fighting about, though, because I don’t understand Czech. But you don’t need to understand the language to know fighting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

