Camping Adventures

camp

We went camping this past week. It was an excellent trip.  Camping centers me. It doesn’t sound super eventful but it felt like such a luxury to have all day with my husband.

We were able to meet up with our friend who were camping at the same place which was awesome. I adore spending what little time we have together.  I’ve always wanted friends who we could hang out together, do little trips with.  Now that our kids are grown is a great time to find that friendship.  Our little foursome just clicks.

It was amazing to relax at the fire not doing a damn thing all together. When we are together we often don’t have kids with us.  It’s such a weird feeling not to have to worry about having kids/stuff to deal with. Those times I feel like a real empty nester. I have to remind myself that I’m really not.

After our friends left our son and his girlfriend spent the week with us and I feel so lucky to be able to have had that week with them(him).  It’s a new relationship for my young man and he is in love with his girl.  I was thrilled when he wanted to bring her with us. In years past he and his brothers had their own tent.  Now he shared it with his girl friend.

The rest of the week was spent just doing nothing.  Every few hours we’d take the dog for a walk. He looooved being able to use our retractable leash and walk ahead of us while we chatted.

I spent hours working on a freaking paint by number.  It looked overwhelming when I got it.  I figured I’d just do a little and then get sick of it but surprisingly it kept me busy and I loved filling in the tiny little areas.  It also took lots of concentration for me because I mix up numbers and letters all the time. Paint by number isn’t probably the best idea for someone with ADD.  There was 7’s and before you know it I was painting L’s too. So it was a little challenging and mind numbing and I thoroughly enjoyed it. If you squint your eyes real hard it looks good.  I have no thoughts to hang it up. Whatsoever.

But true to bipolar fashion I came home and began searching for paint by number kits and hints and tips. I bought a second already…it’s turning into a thing!!!

reading_tent_colorI also brought 3 books with me.  I found them at the thrift store.  I’m not a reader. I can read a page and forget what I read. I have to re-read a lot. But I read one whole book. I couldn’t put it down.  I was so happy to have read and enjoyed a book I began to read the next one which was not nearly as engrossing so I abandoned it.  But! I went back to the thrift store and picked up 4 “new” books.

So, I’m going to try to start reading. Besides being good for my cognition, it will also help me pass the time when I have no idea what to do with myself. I spent good parts of a few days reading and it felt great. I just need to read books that engross me.

All in all, it was a really relaxing time spent with my husband.  We got to have meals with the kids and it was just nice to reconnect with each other.  I didn’t have any bouts of anxiety and the new migraine med we are trying is actually helping I CANNOT BELIEVE IT.  I’ve had 5 migraines in 21 days.

I’m looking forward to our next trip in an month!

 

12 thoughts on “Camping Adventures

  1. Oh, I’m jealous! I love camping, but for some reason my husband has lost interest in it. We have been low on money for a while so camping is sort of the only vacation we could afford this summer. I’m still working on him.

    Somehow being in nature without few people around other than the loved ones, like what you describe, can be grounding. I bet that is part of why you found yourself able to concentrate like you did. I find such trips to be restorative. A while ago I wrote a post about wanting to go to a Czech spa. It was sort of the same kind of desire as wanting to camp.

    I’m glad you had a great time!

    Like

  2. I’m so glad you had a great camping trip !! My family camped in a tent when my sisters and I were in our early teens. Camping trips were some of the best times I remember growing up. I am happy you are reading, too !!! Great progress … and migraine meds helping … Congratulations on this Super Upswing !! Enjoy !! Jan

    Like

Leave a Reply

