I’m a Little Bit Crunchy…

It’s no big mystery that I’m a lil bit on the crunchy side.  I’ll be upfront with that. Natural is best.  Breast feeder, co-sleeper, gardener, thrifter, birks wearing lady. So know you know now 🙂

I LOVE essential oils.  I just love them.  I’ve used them on and off for 20 years, long before they were readily available and quite mainstream.  I really love them in my diffuser scenting my home with natural oils known for their mood enhancing properties. I love to make blends for perfume, bug spray, car air freshners! Best idea…take a close pin and saturate the wood area where you will then clip onto one of your air vents.  Pure heaven for me anyway. I frequently use a calming blend when driving and I love to get back into my car with that scent there.

rescue

 

I use lavender or a calming blend on my pooch when he’s anxious, barking crazy at our neighbor and when I put his thunder shirt on. It does calm him.  Also, there is an amazing product out there for people and pets called Rescue remedy.  I highly recommend it. It comes in a small spray bottle or drops but I like the spray since you can easily spray it in their mouth.  It has a slight taste which doesn’t bother my dogs and seem eager to get some 🙂

My oldest is a dear child.  He comes home from work and often sits with me to chat.  Early 20’s, he has a new girlfriend whom he is nuts over.  Apparently she had some essential oils laying around and said son had some anxiety and worked nicely.  He wondered if it was just the placebo effect but maybe it actually did work!!

I said, SON, how long have I been using essential oils and praising them? He laughed and reminded me he does use tea-tree oil on my recommendation.  It was just so funny that now he might be a believer in the virtues of the oils after his girl friend made him try it. I asked him if he wanted me to pick some more up for him tomorrow. To my chagrin he said yes, definitely.

I hopped over to my local health food store and just picked up three.  I love the single oils but the blends have such a nice scent and are so well rounded.  They are also blended for things like anxiety, focus, sensual, relaxation, purification, pain.

c700x420The 2 brands I use most and have easy access to are Aura Casia and NOW brand. My blends were 12.00 but I know you can get them cheaper online. In the store you can smell the samples to ensure you actually like what you’re buying. GNC carries lots of the NOW brand oils as well but I love our little, local store.  Smells so good in there!

You also want to be sure you’re using pure essential oils by reputable brands. I don’t take the oils internally because there is controversy over the harming properties is you’re not using 100% pure oils.  I’d rather be safe than sorry. You can find lots of info online researching the best and safest brands.

There are some oils that I don’t care for like roman chamomille and rose otto. I got both of these oils for specific conditions. The rose otta is supposed to be the best oil for migraines but it made my stomach sick. Patchouli is hit or miss with many people. Everyone likes citrus and lavender!

My faves are lavender, peppermint, frankensense, orange, ylang ylang, cederwood and sandlewood.  I love patouli when I feel like a hippie, lavender and peppermint ALWAYS for a migraine.

If you haven’t given essential oils a try, please do.  You’ll be pleasantly surprised like my husband when I made a frankensence blend and use it totally helped the unrelenting back pain he was suffering from.

Ever since then he’s a believer!

essential-oils-003

 

 

7 thoughts on “I’m a Little Bit Crunchy…

  1. I like cederwood and sandlewood, really need to try patchouli, can’t believe I haven’t already. Ieed to get back into self-care with oils so thanks for the post and it’s good to hear your son found them beneficial too!
    Caz x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How do you use the essential oils?
    Other than in a diffuser.
    I have a hard te with a lot of scents, but I can do peppermint and citrus.
    Thanks for the info.

    Like

    • I use a lot of them onto skin. You can dilute with another carrier oil
      But I’m known to take a couple drops of lavender onto my fingertips and apply. Sometimes I use them in my shower putting a few drops in my bathtub of my shower away from the direct water. A few drops in the shower isn’t slippery for me but always be careful with slipping. I’ve used them in a hankie and bandana. Lavender and pep I put directly onto my forehead and nape of neck. Sometimes I’ll drop a few onto my bathroom sink to clean it. I’ve added it to vinegar to clean stuff. 🤓

      Like

      • Thank you for the great info!!
        I mixed some eucalyptus oil with coconut oil, it’s great for a cold. I apply it like you would Vicks.
        I do often add a few drops of lemon toy bath. It is so invigorating.
        I need to try peppermint during a migraine. Hubby hates lavendar. Haha
        Thanks again!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

