My Cognitive Decline

I think I’ve had my portion of bad health. From head to toe I have shit going on with me. Granted, I’m a lot better now that I’m not working.  So many of my health issues are related to either anxiety/lyme/fibromyalgia etc.

Headaches, mood swings, depression, heart palpatations, numbness, abdominal pain, hip arthritis, leg weakness, cognitive decline.  I’ll spare you the rest.

My memory and cognition are big ones for me.  They make me worry.  I had no idea that my extremely poor memory and cognition issues could be from the constant mood fluctuation caused by bipolar disorder and depression.  Word finding problems, forgetting the next thing I was going to say. And math?

While sitting in the psychologist office for my disability exam I was asked to count back from 100 by 7’s.  Could not do it.  I tried counting in my head, then on my fingers getting mixed up, forgetting the last number.  Tears streamed down my face, I was so embarrassed.  Of course being put on the spot made me nervous as it always does.

 

Dementia, schizophrenia, parkinsons, chronic lyme disease all scare me because of the cognitive decline.  My doctors have no worry about that at least now I tell myself nor do they tell me, Ms. Wicked Anxiety. I feel like I forget stuff more than before despite controlling my mood so it makes me question if it’s something else.

I know that doing crossword puzzles, word games…reading or anything causing you to think is helpful.  I thought starting this blog would also help me connect with others but also challenge me to write and think about what I wanted to say in sentences that make sense.  So thanks for reading 🙂

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/portion/

15 thoughts on “My Cognitive Decline

  1. I agree that writing a blog helps. I like watching Jeopardy or finding diversions like Netflix.
    BTW, I have been wearing the same clothes now for five days.

    Like

  2. I agree that writing really helps. Definitely challenging the brain, as hard as it can sometimes feel at first, is restorative.

    I had a lot of cognitive impairment in the past from various meds, but luckily they were either changed or lowered. Lamictal gave me a lot of cognitive impairment, but now I take a low dose. Lithium contributed. When I went off it it disappeared. Though antipsychotics can sometimes sedate me, I’ve grown used to them and the sedation isn’t as bad. It doesn’t have to be a permanent thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There are a lot of things that contribute to memory and cognitive delcine. First and foremost is medication. Ever since I got on lithium my mind has become cloudy. I find that I get confused at times, I can’t find the right words many many times, and I can’t construct a sentence out of thin air some of the time.

    Doing crosswords, at least for me, is pointless. I spend more time googling things to try and find the right word and it just gets out of hand. I never used to have such problems. Things like Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy are much more to my liking, probably because I feel like I am interacting with someone.

    Blogging is beneficial. YOu have to be focused and committed to stating your case. But it’s not so legalistic as that. YOu can just let the thoughts flow from your jumbled up mind down to the keyboard and onto the screen. My jumbled up mind usually talks to much! But if what I say makes sense, I let it be.

    Good luck with your journey. It won’t always be so easy.

    Like

  4. I can’t count down from 100 by 7. Golly, that’s hard! I’d be a nervous wreck.
    I get it. I was just telling someone how I feel like I loose time. I just don’t know what happened. I just forget.
    You are right to do problem solving skills. And writing does help. I not only blog. I journal. People would be bored if I wrote the stuff I journal about on my blog. Ha.
    Keep writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

