Am I Really Anonymous?

When I started this blog I knew I wouldn’t be advertising it to friends and family or on social media.  I casually mentioned to my husband and BF I was writing a migraine blog. Husband was “uhhuh, that’s nice dear.” 🙂

As I began writing it became clear that I was not going to be able to not write about my mental illness. It’s one thing for an acquaintance to come across my blog on migraines but I feel completely different about my mental health.  Although I’m keeping it private, nothing is on the internet so I’m closely guarding myself. I don’t want to feel over exposed.

I love and admire the honesty I’ve read on the blogs I’ve been following. I underestimated how it would be to be able to connect with others going through the same things as me.

There are millions of blogs out there, right?  Occasionally I worry that my doctor would come across this. What do you guys think?  Has anyone ever found your blog?  Am I being paranoid?  It’s pretty possible 😉

 

 

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/exposed/

 

 

10 thoughts on “Am I Really Anonymous?

  1. I used to be very concerned about family or friends seeing my posts on a particular bipolar support group, but I have actually opened up my blog on WordPress to just about everyone. Given that, I know I have to be careful about what I write. I will say I’ve revealed a lot, but I have determined that I’m OK with people seeing some things. For example, I wrote a piece a while back about my transference love for my psychiatrist. It’s OK for people to see. My whole family, husband and even my psychiatrist know. I didn’t write anything too embarrassing or revealing that would hurt others. That’s my main goal. Be open when it is something to fight stigma, but not if it hurts others close to be.

    There are things I’ve never told my husband. I will never write about them anywhere. I think some (not all) of those things I’ve never even told my psychiatrist or therapist.

    Like

  2. I don’t think you have to worry. You don’t tell names or anything. If someone saw it they couldn’t be certain it’s you. Many people have the same problems you do. As you said, there are thousands of blogs out there, it’d back pretty crazy if someone you knew happened across yours and thought….hey that sounds like. ______.
    I’m very open on my blog. People know who I am. I’ve told people about it, still most have no idea what I write about. I just don’t think people care that much.
    Don’t fret too much about it.
    I did have one person read my blog and was nasty to me afterward, but I’m not anonymous. And she is a bitch, she came to my blog to upset me. I hate to say it worked.
    I think being anonymous is the best you can do.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. i love this post! but thank goodness i’ve never… (yet) been found by anyone that knows me personally… my hubby knows i comment alot on other peoples blogs and he knows i have one he just isnt interested in reading it… he doesnt like to read in general so i knew he wouldnt be all over it.. i have also mentioned it to my therapist and occasionally he would ask me about it but i dont think he’s read it… it would totally ruin my visits to him because he would already know what i want to talk about lol… plus would be a little embarrassing being that i talk about him alot … he knows i dont mention names and i block out faces… so i dont know.. but i hear ya…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I know that feeling! I’ve just started my blog this week after quite some time thinking about it. I’ve told my friends who know that I have mental health issues about it and they were very supportive. Though I am afraid of my students or employers coming across it and figuring me out. I think you’ll be okay though!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post 🙂 I stepped into the blogging world without much of a strategy and no particular sense of direction. For me, it was a way of getting my thoughts out, but I started off in doing that in a calculated way. My original notion was that I was making major changes in my life (moving from the city to a small town to be a caregiver for my Mother and I thought it would be a good way for my friends to understand my journey and stay connected). It’s still a bit dumbfounding to me, that my friends didn’t read my blog and let me drift away yet I accumulated a whole new community that could connect with what I am feeling and experiencing. So for me, the people I know personally aren’t reading my blog (and no, I am not bitter, just a big disappointed) and all of that is trumped by the fact that I have found a community of strangers who care. xo Harlon

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you 🙂

      After mentioning it to my family…sister, husb, best friend nobody asked again about it again. And you’re right it’s ok.

      What an amazing son you are to be with your mom taking care of her. I’ve loved working with my elderly. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

