My Panic Attacks

I can recall my first panic attack vividly. I had a long history of anxiety but never a panic attack until this night.  My youngest was a year old, 1999.

I had a migraine all day. By night I put my little guys to bed and took some excedrin.  I made myself a cup of tea thinking that additional bit of caffeine would help. I had wanted to stay up and watch the Barbara Walters 20/20 interview with Monica Lewinsky.

After the interview I went to bed with my migraine in tact and started panicking. As I laid in bed I began to get this awful feeling of dread.  My heart began to pound.  I woke my husband up and told him something was very wrong with me, I thought I was having a heart attack, aneurysm or stroke from my migraine. I stayed up most of the night trying to calm myself with meditation. It never occurred me to me that this was a panic attack. It feels so real.

The next day I immediately called my doctor as soon as they opened. She had me come right in. After examining mes she diagnosed me with a panic attack.  She was right on with that one.  Now if she only caught the Lyme disease…but that’s another story.

Now I take an occasional low dose of a PRN anti-anxiety med if I need it.  I’m on daily medication to prevent the attacks. It seems to help.  And avoiding too much caffeine which probably triggered that first attack!

Panicked

4 thoughts on “My Panic Attacks

  1. Panic attacks are frightening. At one point at work I used to keep a brown paper bag handy to puff into until the anxiety meds kicked in. Do you have Lyme disease as well! My god, you cope with a lot! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

