Community Acupuncture and migraine pain

When I was going through a particularly bad migraine month I decided to try acupuncture.  I had researched it and learned that it can help a lot of people.  I was ok if it just reduced the frequency or pain.  I wasn’t asking for a miracle but it was worth a shot!.

Because of the cost involved for a single provider I decided to look into community acupuncture. Community acupuncture places work by utilizing one large room so the acupuncturist is able to work around the room working on hands, arms, head, feet, legs. You pay what you can afford. So the extreme reduction of cost enables me to visit a couple of times a week.

I arrived with my 16 year old in tow. I was able to convince him to give it a try for stress reduction. The crazy hippie mama in me also thought maybe it would help with his A.D.D in some way. Someone actually told me that it helped her son.

The large room was darkened but for a few lights.  Recliner chairs stretched in a circle all the way around the room.  After we met with our acupuncturist, we found our chairs, took our shoes and socks off . Then we covered up with the cozy blankets.  We waited for our guy to come “poke” us.

Each of us had probably 10 needles on our legs and arms.  It doesn’t hurt when they put them in. They are teeny tiny little needles.  It takes him less than a second to insert the needles.

My boy went first…feet, legs, arms.  After the needles are in you usually fall asleep.  You can stay as long as you’d lilke.  Many take nice long naps and wake up refreshed. I brought friends and family with me a few times.  Nobody seemed to love it, cept me.

Unfortunately it didn’t help my migraines at all but it did help my fibromyalgia a lot. I would go back for another issue.  I’ve been thinking about going back for stress relief lately.

Leave a Reply

