A little girl and a migraine

Twelve percent of school aged kids have migraines.  Half of these kids were younger than 12 before their first migraine. Did you know children as young as 2 can have migraine headaches? It’s now thought that infant colic is related to migraines.  Red ear syndrome is another coming into light. Just like it sounds…one or both ears become red and burning. There are “silent” abdominal migraines.  They don’t have any head pain but they have vomiting, abdominal pain and nausea. Migraines are an inherited disease.  If one parent has migraines their child has a 50% chance of inheriting the disease.  

 

My story begins as a 4 year old little girl.  I didn’t understand why I’d get sick.  My right eye would throb.  I wouldn’t be able to play and I’d have to lay down. Eventually I’d vomit and it would help the migraine ease off slightly. Nothing would help except for my mom’s gentle touch across my forehead. I would be given tylenol which pretty much does nothing!


Besides school, the worst thing that could happen was not being home when I’d have a migraine.  To be anyplace else was torture. To be any place other than home and a dark room without meds was miserable.  

 

The first day of school showed up every year and it came with a migraine and dread. You don’t want to go home sick on the first day of school. I didn’t want to end up in the nurses office. I didn’t want anyone to know. I remember running down the hallway to get to the bathroom on my first day of high school.  I didn’t make it. And I went home early.


At school I’d be so embarrassed to have to ask the teacher AGAIN if I could go to the nurse. Then waiting in the florescent light for my mom, I’d become more nauseous and hope we’d make it home before I’d throw up.

Today there is treatment available, both to prevent attacks and rescue medications for kids. Please see the doctor if you suspect your child is having migraines.  It’s easy to panic but you shouldn’t. Migraine Headaches are quite common.


If your child is having migraines you might want to think about acupuncture.  It has been shown to be effective…and chemical free. I’ve had acupuncture before and my guy told me acupuncture for constipation is a near perfect fix.

Leave a Reply

